30 Day book Challenge- Day 9 A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving.

There are big classic books that I seemed to not have read when I was younger - entirely my fault as they were sat on the bookshelf making me feel guilty for years.  The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien is one of them. I received the most beautiful illustrated copy and finally opened it last year at the age of 22.

I must admit I put it off for a few years not really keen of the idea of hobbits, elves, goblins and what not prancing around the country side running from dragons and other stranger creatures. It was not until I overheard one of my 11 year old tutees ranting and raving about it that I decided to give it ago.

I loved it. An exciting, straightforward good old fashioned children’s book, but also a surprisingly good read for adults too. The new and fantastic are told in such a casual manner that it draws the reader in and helps them to connect to the strange surroundings and goings on.

I think I enjoyed this book so much because the story takes the form of the basic quest. It has character’s that are helpful and friendly, those that try to trip you up and are dangerous, with many different surroundings and mini trials and problems to solve, which are all involved in the bigger picture of the story. I seem to like books that take on this form because no matter how fantastical or mythical the story line is you can also relate to and draw strength from the character’s pursuit as we ourselves are constantly pursuing.

Adults and children can find many of the same but also many different things to love and admire about this book. So if you are stuck picking your next read, keep The Hobbit in mind. Compare it to your memories of reading it as a child, or if you haven’t read it before (like me) give it ago because I am certainly thrilled that I did. Let me know if you do!

So I guess at some point I should dust off my copy of Lord of the Rings!!!

 

3 thoughts on “30 Day book Challenge- Day 9 A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving.

  1. Tolkien is one of my favourite modern writers. You loved The Hobbit, find the time to dust off your copy of The Lord of the Rings. I found I enjoyed it even more as the characters and action is even more evolved.

  2. I always refused to read “The Alchemist”, just because everybody else read it.
    After a few years I finally read it, and I have to admit that I liked it. At least the first part. Once the silly winds with voices start, it lost me again however.

Leave a Reply

