The 1000 book challenge.

On the 7th July 2010 a month after my graduation from University in Drama and Film studies, I found myself going to pick up what would have been my 6th Ian McEwan book in a row, so I decided that I would read Dracula for the 12th time. It was then that I realised I had become too comfortable in my reading choices and that I was in a massive rut.

I wanted to take on a reading challenge and trawled through book list after book list, challenge after challenge and at last stumbled upon something that looked vaguely OK- some 100 best book list as decided by some unknown readers.

I quickly decided it wasn’t for me. It was something that I could finish quickly within the year and found myself thinking whats the point, where’s the challenge in that? I started looking for something harder and eventually came across this:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/series/1000novels

The Guardian 1000 novels that everyone must read.

It grabbed my attention straight away because it is a long-term goal and something that I would not be able to rush through like I would with a 100 in a year challenge. It would allow me to take my time and experience the magic of reading.

I am not 100% sure on what number I have reached so far as I am away from my much beloved book journal during all the NYE celebrations (I will post this info later) but I don’t really care. This ‘challenge’ has taken me to some incredible places that I would not have known about if it were not for the idea to push myself that little bit further. To be honest it is not my goal to finish the list but instead to always remember to have fun whilst reading, to savour the words and to never ever resent having to pick up a book.

The 1000 book list is only novels so I do also make time to read poetry, plays, autobiographies, new releases and those that entice me but are not on the list.

So if for New Year you are settling on some new resolutions and find that 52 or even 100 books in a year is on that list yet again….try to think a little more to the future and maybe take on the 1000 book challenge.

It may not be for everybody but all I know is that it will be the best feeling in the world if I do put down that very last book!!!

Do let me know if you are interested or indeed take on the challenge….I have not met anyone doing it yet and would love to have a 1000 buddy.

2 thoughts on “The 1000 book challenge.

  1. Hi there, I too stumbled upon this list a while ago, when all other lists just seemed to be lacking a litle something here, a little something there. It is there as one of the things that I need to do, that I will eventually get round to doing. I just have so many plans and lists that its quite ridiculous, I fear I need plans and lists to sort those out…. But yeah I think it’s amazing that you are doing this as your challenge, and even more so that you are doing it just to have fun reading and to not see it as a burden. I think sometimes we lose track of that as we rush to read as much as we possibly can to get the next review written…. good luck to you… and I look forward to following your blog.

    P.S. I would love to be your ‘1000 books buddy’ but sadly I don’t think I can read 100 a yr yet…. baby steps for me I think. 🙂

  2. Soph! I’ve had a look at the list and I’ve already read 45 of them. A good start, I think. Not sure about 100 a year, may take a little longer…

Leave a Reply

