Bucket List: Bungee Jump

“If you are not willing to risk the unusual, you will have to settle for the ordinary.” – Jim Rohn

I did a bungee jump over the Victoria Falls in Zambia for my 23rd birthday. I was volunteering with the Book Bus charity for 6 weeks that summer and we didn’t have to go into school that afternoon. I had said from day 1 of landing in the country that I was going to do it and booked it up as soon as I got into Livingstone…just so I couldn’t chicken out. I was petrified. It was also something I wanted to do because it has been on my bucketlist FOREVER. As they counted down from 5, I was stood with my toes over the edge and my arms out wide I nearly burst into tears. Then as they got to 3. I though you know what I am going to enjoy this and jumped. It was the bravest thing that I have ever done. As as I bounced back up the first time I could see the falls in all of their glory. MAGNIFICENT. Then at the end as I dangled waiting to be rescued I could see hippos and crocs swimming below me. I got back to our camp and slept for 4 hours before I was woken up by friends with beer and an african drumming class. They then threw me into the swimming pool at 11.59pm. That was a great day.

292042_10150775009730441_792095440_20438162_2487001_n

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor, catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

