Bucket List: See a Life Changing Sunset

“Soon it got dusk, a grapy dusk, a purple dusk over tangerine groves and long melon fields; the sun the color of pressed grapes, slashed with burgandy red, the fields the color of love and Spanish mysteries.”

Jack Kerouac, On the Road

There is something so beautiful about how a sun sets. So slowly to begin with and then all of a sudden the sky lights up with all the colours that you can imagine. Then, just as quick as it happened, it is gone. They are romantic and mesmerizing. You fall in love with our world and all those around you. They make everything look beautiful. They transform everything around you and in that brief moment even the most hustled and bustled of places slows down and seems strangely peaceful.

When I was a little girl I wrote ‘to see a beautiful sunset’ on my bucket list and now that I sit and look through my photographs the little girl who is still inside of me is content. I have been lucky enough to have travelled to some pretty incredible places and to see some wonderous things and at just a few of these places I have captured them at sunset.

Below are some of my favourites:

175700_10150779938340441_595187_o

#1 On Safari in Botswana I managed to take this photo. I can remember being so excited about seeing the elephants, giraffes and lions that I completely forgot about the birds. Some of the birds that I saw: the way they move, make song and swirl as a group was just heart stoppingly beautiful. In the moment I felt like the luckiest girl in all the world to see something so beautiful.

289403_10150779940815441_47294_o

#2 This was on the same safari in Botswana but this photo is actually a shot of Namibia and a Namibian fisherman on his wooden long-boat. I can’t believe that I managed to take this photo myself. It really was an incredible few days.

580608_10152450488235441_777211976_n

#3 On a beach in Thailand. The sand was golden and I hand a nice cold beer in my hand to soothe away the sunburn pain. It’s just a snippet of a sunset but it was equally as beautiful as the ones above as I shared it with good friends and we shared lots of laughs.

292078_10150776823095441_6865827_n

#4 Whilst in Zambia we went to an amazing hotel for afternoon tea and cocktails for my friend Jackie’s birthday. I was sat sipping a martini overlooking the Victoria Falls when all my friends got so excited because my dress was the same colour as the sky so I had to jump up and get snapped by them all. We saw crocs sleeping on the grass banks and could hear the roar of the falls. MAGIC

460815_10151745912195441_1133471846_o 460815_10151745912175441_115270271_o

#5 & #6 Both of these photos are from the top of the Empire State Building in NYC. I travelled alone along the top of the East coast of Canada and America two Easters ago and I spent 6 nights in New York. For the last 3 nights I had cab drivers racing to get me to the building on time to see the sunset from the top of the building. It wasn’t until my last night that we timed it perfectly and I raced up to the top and made it. A perfect end to an incredible time in one of my favourite cities.

180841_10150416517150441_3815112_n

#7 On the last night of my time living in an Indian jungle me and my friends went out to this viewing point to watch the sunset together. It really was the best end to a really unique trip. I am stood in the middle of a tea plantation overlooking (what felt at the time) the whole of India. We stood until and watched the sunset go down until we had to turn on our head torches and make it back to our camp.

291258_10150774157450441_494370_o 287371_10150774069780441_3815899_o

#8 & #9 These two photos are from my time in Meheba Refugee Camp in Northern Zambia. The top photo was taken our first night when we went to the school playground to meet some of the children. These two girls walked towards us as the sunset and all the beautiful light was coming through their beautiful hair. Two of the happiest young girls that I have met. The photo at the bottom is when we all became cheer leaders in an inter-school football match. The sun was setting over these children, who most of which had had lives more difficult than I ever dreamt could be. And we got to see them playing and behaving like children. It was such a privilege to be there in that exact moment.

There have been many more but these are just the few that I have captured. I am a big believer in putting your camera down and putting your phone in your bag and just being there in the moment.

There really are certain places in the world that are kind of phenomenal and become even more so when bathed in the orangey redness of a sunset.

2 thoughts on “Bucket List: See a Life Changing Sunset

Leave a Reply

