Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

It seems as if the whole wide world was talking about Gone Girl. So I bowed down to the pressure and picked it for my Autumn Reading List. Actually I am really glad that I did.

It is an easy read. A gripping read. A real page turner. I liked the format of the book…without giving anything away it flits between the husband and the wife with ease. Their ‘chapters’ end on mini cliff hangers making it impossible to put down. It made me feel anxious, it made me feel emotional, it made me feel nervous….

IT MADE ME FEEL SO ANNOYED. Whilst I genuinely really loved this book the ending had me pulling my hair out. I got no satisfaction from it at all. It seemed rushed and like the author had simply run out of words. The ending was far to easy for such a complex book. I’m trying not to give anything away here!!!

I would recommend it but with caution. If you are anything like me the end will only disappoint.

As always I will end with some quotes that I loved!

“Tampon commercial, detergent commercial, maxi pad commercial, windex commercial – you’d think all women do is clean and bleed.”

“My mother had always told her kids: if you’re about to do something, and you want to know if it’s a bad idea, imagine seeing it printed in the paper for all the world to see.”

“I don’t understand the point of being together if you’re not the happiest.”

“To be kissed on the lips by your husband is the most decadent thing.”

It seems as if I’m fully back into the love of reading. LONG MAY IT LAST.

One thought on “Review: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. Pingback: Autumn reading list…done | bluntsbookblog

Leave a Reply

