Review: The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

sQLh2gSTvgGYKVLj00XljTel

I finished this book yesterday morning. I have the weekend off from work so I stayed in bed for an extra hour and got it read. I loved it. It’s a shift in the non fiction books that I have read in the past. A move from making others happy/ changing the world. To focusing on your own happiness and working on yourself. It’s made me realise that whilst it is important to always always focus on others you need to make time for yourself too. It is not selfish to look at and spend time on what makes you happy.

It inspired me to start my own happiness type of project in January. I have posted about it already a few times. I am still deciding how I should do it. Will I follow Rubin’s method or tweak it or change it completely.

I liked the way in which she focused on a different aspect of her life each month.

By reading about and undertaking my own happiness project I do not mean to suggest in any way at all that I am unhappy. In fact I am the happiest that I have been in sometime. But I do think that it is important to spend time on yourself and to be prepared for when a phone call that May change your whole world comes. Because one day it will.

Read this book if you are into and open to change. Read it even if you’re not. It may just change your mind. Read it if you like powerful quotes for it is full of them. Read it if you want to smile. Read it if you want to try something different. Read it to get inspiration and to be inspired.

My favourite quotes from the book:

The days are long, but the years are short.

Never start a sentence with the words ‘No offense.’

One of the best ways to make yourself happy is to make other people happy. One of the best ways to make other people happy is to be happy yourself.

The things that go wrong often make the best memories.

It’s about living in the moment and appreciating the smallest things. Surrounding yourself with the things that inspire you and letting go of the obsessions that want to take over your mind. It is a daily struggle sometimes and hard work but happiness begins with your own attitude and how you look at the world.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

  1. Pingback: Autumn reading list…done | bluntsbookblog

Leave a Reply

