For Lianne with love: Blunts guide to New York

Things to do:

Show on Broadway a definite must see is to go to a show on Broadway ( nearly on every bucket list out there) you can get last-minute tickets from Tixs in Times Square but as you are only there for just under 4 days I wouldn’t recommend wasting the time queuing. Splash the cash a little and but before you get there.
What would I see?
The Book of Mormon
Chicago
Les Mis
The Lion King

9/111 memorial tour
http://www.tributewtc.org/walktours/index.php

Takes about 1h 15mins. Cost $22 includes entry into the memorial. Really moving. Conducted by those who lost loved ones, were part of the rescue teams…. You can book in advance on the website. All saving time.

Empire State Building at sunset. Rockefeller building in the day time.

Will be absolutely freezing but so beautiful.

Harlem church service

I’m so not religious but this was one of my highlights of my trip. You can join a tour. Fantastic.

Circle line cruise
http://www.circleline42.com/new-york-cruises/home.aspx

My parents have done this. They did the whole island cruise and loved it. It included going close to Statue of Liberty. I didn’t go to the Statue of Liberty but wouldn’t recommend getting of. This cruise would take you close enough. I can not stress this enough :DO NOT GO ON A STATEN ISLAND FERRY!

Shopping:

I did hardly any shopping over there. But places I did go and liked were:
Bergdorf Goodman


Saks fifth avenue.

Grand central station.
My mums favourite building.

Walk across Brooklyn Bridge
Don’t bother staying in Brooklyn. Your only there for 4 days.
Amazing views of the city.

Times Square @ nighttime. Combine this with theatre trip

Walk in Central Park.

Your there over Christmas so ice skate at the Rockefeller center

Walk the length of the high line ans stop for cocktails at the Standard hotel. The standard 69 is one of my favs of all time.
It’s also a really cool area to explore. The Chelsea market is a cool place to shop and have lunch.

Parents went here:
http://bryantpark.org/things-to-do/wintervillage.html

Next to the public library. Hundreds of boutique stalls and a Christmas must.

Places to eat:
Balthazar for brunch.

http://www.balthazarny.com/

My parents loved a burger place called Bare Burgers.

I went to a place called Tiny Tims which was delicious.
Eataly for lunch. Also see the flatiron building. At the bottom of 5th avenue. Start at Bergdorf Goodman and work your way down the street and end here for lunch.

If I were you I would walk everywhere as then you bump into things you would never expect. It is such an easy city to navigate around as its made up of straight lines so even a geographer like you will be able to do it. You are there for such a short time so I would book something to do on your first night (depending on plane times) like the theatre, or you will waste that night. I was there for 7 days and still have so much that i want to do. MAKE THE MOST OF IT! I will keep updating as I think of more bits and pieces.

I aslo spent 3 hours reading in the New York public library. BEAUTIFUL! May not be for everyone!

Leave a Reply

