Review: If you have to cry, go outside: and other things your mother never told you. Kelly Cutrone

Like many I first came across Kelly Cutrone on the MTV show ‘The Hills.’ It wasn’t until a few months ago flicking my way through Amazon that I even realised she has written a book. I thought that I would give it a go. I added it to my autumn reading list and have just this second finished it. I LOVED IT!

It’s been too long since I have read a book by a female that has made me think about my own views on females int he workplace, in relationships, in friendships….

YES KELLY.

I found this book empowering, honesty written and I have underlined so many lines that I might as well just have copied down the entire book.

It’s not often you randomly come across a book  by somebody that you know little about and get moved in quite this way.

I am not going to write a massively detailed review here as there are so many topics that I am dying to look into further which will fuel later blog posts.

As per usual I will leave you with soe of my best bits:

“When you’re the most happening person at the party, it’s time to leave”

“If you don’t let what you don’t know stop you from doing your best in every situation, you will surprise yourself over and over in life.”

“I happen to believe the world will change only when we change ourselves. And that starts with finding ourselves: learning to quiet the clamor in our minds and the voices of everyone around us and move toward what feels right – toward the things we know, for reasons we can’t explain, that we’re mean to do, the things that makes us feel alive.”

“Bitch: a reflection of people’s lack of creativity & inability to acknowledge & embrace a powerful woman; a woman who won’t comply.”

“The planet is here for our delight, but it is also here for us to change, to make it the best it can be. It’s not just about sleeping and fucking and getting the right dress. Let’s HOPE not.”

“We’re constantly getting these messages to mind our own business and look the other way if we want to be well liked, to not tell the truth or speak our mind or say anything too intense. Well, I’m telling you here that this approach not only makes you party to other people’s crimes against themselves but is a prescription for mediocrity and delusion”

these days, i continue to call members of the media myself rather than outsourcing the work to my staffers, because you can never be too good for the things that first made you successful. i will always remember that at twenty-three years old, as an untrained and unknown publicist newbie from syracuse, i tried my best to get the whole country talking about my message with no staff, no office, no assistant, no blackberry, and no know-how – just with conviction, truth, and balls. and it worked.

you call yourself a feminist? you say you want to advance the women’s movement? then acknowledge that you’re no different than anyone else and deserve no special treatment. haul those fedex boxes and don’t give me or anyone else the luxury of seeing you lose control of your emotions in a professional setting.

Even though I am sometimes perceived as a bitch or a witch, the office atmosphere I cultivate is nothing like the cultural stereotype of striving women clawing each other to death to get the queen bee’s job.  Women have been taught that, in order to get ahead, we have to be secretive and plotting and manipulative, because a straightforward route to the top hasn’t always existed for us, and in many industries it still doesn’t.  But I don’t believe in playing into these stereotypes.  We don’t have to stab each other in the back, we don’t have to take things personally and break down when we’re criticized, and we don’t have to advance at each others’ expense

2 thoughts on “Review: If you have to cry, go outside: and other things your mother never told you. Kelly Cutrone

  1. Pingback: Autumn reading list…done | bluntsbookblog

Leave a Reply

