Review: The Receptionist by Janet Groth

ZofAUeyhSyQZoJRGRWiCCBzY

I finished this book a couple of weeks ago. It has taken me rather a long time to sit down and write about it because I really didn’t enjoy it all that much. I didn’t hate it. It just didn’t capture my interest all that much.

The book is about Janet Groth (a real life person) who was the receptionist at the New Yorker for twenty odd years in the 60’s and 70’s. It follows her relationships and friendships with the people who worked their and people she met at parties all over New York.

I adore her as a person. My favourite bits of the book were all about her. How she felt, how she got pregnant, how she met the love of her life. I was less impressed with the stories about the people that she met. It was a bit like when a good friend tries to impress you with stories all of which are about people you don’t know and/or care very little about.

I wanted to learn more about the city and the city during this time.

It wasn’t awful. Just not great…I am yet to find a glowing review.

I took no pictures or even underlined any quotes that I loved. So for the first (and hopefully last) time ever I will leave you without any!

2 thoughts on “Review: The Receptionist by Janet Groth

  1. Pingback: Autumn reading list…done | bluntsbookblog

Leave a Reply

