The best Chocolate Chip cookies in the entire world.

So I pin. I pin all day long. Pinterest is somewhat of an obbsession. Why? Because it introduces me to new and incredible things. This is one that I just had to share with you all!

These are not only recommend by little old me but The New York Times picked them as the best chocolate chip cookie recipe ever!!!

You will need:

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 1/4 tsp of baking soda
  • 1 2/3 cups of bread flour
  • 8 1/2 oz plain flour
  • 1 1/4 cups of light brown sugar
  • 8 oz granulated sugar
  • 1 1/4 lbs chocolate chips (more about this in a second)
  • 1 1/12 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cups unsalted butter

* I apologise for the range of weights and measurement of ingredients. I would hate to work out them all into one matching unit but my maths is truly terrible!!!

What to do:

  1. Sift bread flour, plain flour, baking powder and salt into one bowl and set to one side.
  2. Cream together the butter and sugars until light and fluffy (this took me about 5 minutes with a mixer with a paddle attachment)
  3. Add the eggs.
  4. Stir in vanilla.
  5. Reduce mixer to a low-speed and add in the dry ingredients slowly (the ones in your separate bowl). Mix until it is all just combined.
  6. Fold in your chocolate chips. You can use whatever type of chocolate chip you like. I used 1/3 dar, 1/3 milk and 1/3 white. It was heavenly.
  7. Refrigerate dough for 24-36 hours. (I will come back to this later)
  8. When ready to bake, pre-heat oven to 180.
  9. Drop spoonfuls of dough onto a baking sheet.
  10. Bake each batch for 10-12 minutes. I tool mine out after 10 so they were lovely and gooey.

BVvl2whIUAAihjJ

The recipe tells you to refrigerate the dough. I had never ever heard of this before so I conducted an experiment. I cooked a batch straight away and then left the rest to chill out in the fridge for a couple of days.

The RESULT= no noticeable difference.

But what it does mean is that you don’t have to cook it all at once. You can keep them in your fridge and cook them as and when you need them over the next 3 days. Perfect to whip up the day before you:  babysit, look after brothers and sisters,have a movie night with friends… Because this recipe turns out a lot of cookies. Roughly about 50 of them.

I can not eat that many so I gave them to the girls I look after in a boarding house.

They still talk about them today (6 months later on!!!)

If you do try them. Let me know just how much you like them! I promise you that you will make these over and over again. People will be begging you for the recipe.

Best served warm out of the oven and with a big glass of milk.

BVvlxKZIIAANrwb

4 thoughts on “The best Chocolate Chip cookies in the entire world.

  1. The fat content in cookies is high, so typically you refrigerate the dough so it hardens again. The reason is spread, not flavour. When the cookie goes into the oven unchilled, the cookie will spread thinner as the butter is already warm.

    How much spread really depends on the recipe and the type of butter, yada, yada, yada. This recipe has more flour, higher gluten, and a lot of chocolate chips, so I don’t think you’d have much of a problem with spread.

    (Apologies, food geek here.) 😉

  2. Pingback: Blunt’s Weekend Kitchen: Chocolate Cookies | Blunt Blogs

Leave a Reply

