Tuesday 10: positive quotes & positive people.

This week Cosmopolitan magazine and Body Gossip have joined forces to embrace social media niceness.

Considering social networking is supposed to be something we do for entertainment, in our leisure time, we seem to spend an awful lot of it mud-slinging, hand wringing and, in the words of Hugh Grant, being “gloomy about the state of the world”.

This is something that I am super excited about and am embracing with open arms. I teach Wellbeing (PSHCE) in an all-girls school and I am constantly being bombarded with negative articles and comments when I am researching new topics. It sometimes seems as if the world is labelling all girls sluts and all boys egotistical pigs.

The girls that I teach are obsessed with the celebrity culture. They tend to too often look up to women for how they look and not for what they say. I hear them debating in the lunch queue about what vegetables contain fewer calories and they give up things like gluten or trans-fat for Lent because it will help them loose the final 5lbs they have been dying to shed.

Something has got mixed up. As wonderful as the internet is, it can also be hugely damaging. Girls (and boys but I don’t teach any of those!) have a constant and immediate stream of harmful words and pictures and I am convinced that all this negativity that they are exposed to is in turn making them more cynical and judgemental to one another- if it’s OK to judge celebrities going bare faced and owning their blemishes than it sure as hell is OK to judge one another.

So today for my Tuesday 10 I am going to share with you all 10 of my favourite positive quotes and positive people.

This is what I want every teenage girl teenager to read

  1. Lupita Nyong’o

Lupita Nyong'o. Beautiful, eloquent, wise beyond her years. My ultimate girl crush.

                       

And what my mother meant when she said, ‘you can’t eat beauty,’ was that you can’t rely on how you look to sustain you. What is fundamentally beautiful is compassion for yourself and for those around you. That kind of beauty enflames the heart and enchants the soul.

2. Beyoncé

I feel like this should be me. I want to shine! I want be the center of attention, sometimes I stand and imagine myself in front of a cheering crowd, screaming my name, begging for me to do something amazing.

I don’t have to prove anything to anyone. I only have to follow my heart and concentrate on what I want to say to the world. I run my own world.

3. Sophia Bush

Sophia Bush -  Shes so inspirational <3

 

I think the sexiest thing on anybody is intelligence. I respect somebody who has a brain and wants to use it more than a pretty face and status.

4. Leonardo DiCaprio

Leonardo DiCaprio <3

 

If you can do what you do best and be happy, you are further along in life than most people.

5. Oprah Winfrey

 Oprah  www.facebook.com/organicbabyclothes www.organicbabe.com.au

Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough.

6. Jennifer Lawrence

Jenifer Lawrence :)

 

‘What are you going to do? Be hungry every single day to make other people happy?

7. Jared Leto

Jared Leto Looks Absolutely Flawless For "Flaunt" Magazine

 

Remember the only way to fight negativity is with positivity. Stay focused on the dreams.

9. Nelson Mandela

 Nelson Mandela #inspirational hero

A good head and a good heart are always a formidable combination.

10. Ewan McGregor

Ewan McGregor

 

I fight cynicism. It’s too easy. It’s really boring. It’s much harder to be positive and see the wonder of everything. Cynicism is a bunch of people who aren`t as talented as other people, knocking them because they make them feel even more untalented.

 

Leave a Reply

