The Liebster Award

I must live under a rock (or I have been extremally busy) but I just have never heard of the Liebster Award. Now that I have been nominated…I SEE IT EVERYWHERE! Where have I been?

So lets get to it…The lovely Katie nominated me. You can find her here at This Is Where The Magic Happens.   A wonderful blog. We discovered each other a few months ago and I must admit that I devour everything that she writes. I am a fan!

I love the idea of small blogs, just like mine, reaching out and helping other blogs, directing their readers to new bloggers and helping each other grow in a friendly blogging community. What a wonderful world this can sometimes be!

These are the rules:

·       Thank the blogger that nominated you and share a link back to their blog.

·       Display the award on your blog.

·       List 11 facts about yourself.

·       Answer 11 questions chosen by the blogger that nominated you.

·      Think of 11 new questions to ask your nominees.

·       Nominate 5-11 blogs that you think deserve the award and who have less than 1,000  followers. You can nominate blogs that have already received the award, but you can’t renominate the blog that nominated you.

·        Inform nominees of the award

11 fact about me…Sophie…the person behind Blunts Book Blog.

1. I read. When I have the time I devour books. I sometimes work very odd hours so I can oftern be too tired to even contemplate picking up a book at the end of the night, especially if it is the end of term time. But there are honestly few things that I love more than having a nice long bath with a good book and a glass of wine. I then get into a bed with clean sheets and wear clean pyjamas to settle on down with the book and probably another glass of wine.

2. I try new things. I like to challenge myself and am more than prepared to fail in my pursuit of all things new! I have a Bucket List which you can find here: Bluntsbucketlist. Just posting that link I have realised that I haven’t crossed anything off it in a while or added to it. Just written it on my to do list.

3. I cry. O sweet Jesus I am a sobber. It doesn’t have to be much and off I go. A happy story or a sad story will have me blubbering. Don’t even get me started on a family reunion story. My heart quivers just thinking about it.

4. I travel. This is a whopping great big passion of mine! I want to visit everywhere and anywhere with anyone and everybody. All I want to do is travel and read. Read and travel. I think travel is the only thing that you can spend money on that makes you richer.  Its important to visit different countries and meet different people. We are brothers and sisters of the world.

5. I quote. One of my biggest life ambitions is to have something that I say remembered for ever. I collect quotes. They are the only thing that I hoard (if you ignore my mahosive book collection).

6. I have favourites.

Here are two of them.

My favourite quote:

My favourite colour: Colour Inspiration soft light grey ACACAC

I want to paint EVERYTHING in this colour.

7. I discover. There is nothing that I like more than coming across new (or old but unkown) talent. It could be musicians, chefs, bloggers, writers, designers, artists, dancers…. Then what I like to do is share it all with you!

So here are two of my best new finds!

Musician: Tori Kelly

Restuarant: Maliks.

With a recommendation from Heston Blumenthal you know that this is a serious Indian Restaurant. I went for the Chicken Tikka Masala (not normally something I would pick). I was promised a creamy and spiced to perfection ooey gooey lovelyness in a plate. This I got. PERFECTION!

Find them out in Cookham, Marlow, Beconsfield or Gerrads Cross. Or click here for their website.

8. I care. I care about this planet of ours, our environment, people, animals, politics, human rights, women, old people, young people. I try to help in any way that I can. I try to encourage others to care too. To help another person (or our planet and all its ihabitants) is the most important thing somebody can do.

9. I am my own religion. I do not believe in heaven. I do not believe in hell. I do not believe that there is a God, a Jesus, a Mary or a bloody donkey. I don’t believe that there is anyone looking down on us. I believe that are not here with a preplaned purpose. Instead I believe that we are here to make our own choices and to carve out whatever future we decide to have.

I read somewhere that we should be our own religion. I think I shall call my religion Bluntism. Bluntism=  Do your best. Decide what you want to do and throw all of yourself into it. Be passionate. Be kind. Be inquistive. Ask questions. Stand for something. Make changes if they are for the better. Be loyal. Listen. Share your opinion. LOVE. Help. Forever know that you are enough.

10. I do not understand nor do I care for grammar or its police. I will use it at the wrong time, put it in the wrong place, not use it when it is needed and yes I understand that somethimes I will not make sense or may look like a 5 year old. But do you know what? Life is too short. Move on. Just……

Seriously... it's not worth it

Your despair over an incorrectly placed apostophe or comma is not worth it. You are welcome.

11. I am woman. I am a feminist. No I dont want women to be better than men. I just want women to be equal. I believe in the beauty of women. In their power, in their ability to change the world and I want them to be given an equal chance.

11 questions. (Boy am I glad that these are book questions. I haven’t blogged about books in a while!)

1.If you could be any literary character, which one would you be and why?

I grew up in the age of Harry Potter. Without a doubt I would be Hemroine Granger. That chick has got her stuff together. Loyal, passionate and won’t conform to normality. Yes. I would like to be her.
2.What’s your favourite opening line to a book?

I believe that books start with the dedication. This makes me cry. It is from The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by C.S Lewis.

“My Dear Lucy,

  I wrote this story for you, but when I began it I had not realized that girls grow quicker than books. As a result you are already too old for fairy tales, and by the time it is printed and bound you will be older still. But some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again. You can then take it down from some upper shelf, dust it, and tell me what you think of it. I shall probably be too deaf to hear, and too old to understand a word you say but I shall still be

        your affectionate Godfather,”

Heart breaking into a million pieces with joy and love.

 3.Which fictional character would you marry and why?

Probs Romeo from Romeo and Juliet. It probably helps that Leonardo DiCaprio played Romeo. My regular readers will know just how much I love Leo.

Only line from the tragedy that I loved from the moment I first read it ♥

Another one for goodluck.

Leonardo DiCaprio | Romeo and Juliet, Dir. Baz Luhrmann, 1996.

Even when crying I am OBSESSED!

4.What’s the most emotionally draining book you’ve ever read?

Anna Karenina. One of the most tragic of all fictional stories ever told.

5. If you could have written any book, which would it be and why?

I would have liked to have written Half The Sky, How to change the world . I am actually reading this book right now! It is written by the coolest married couple in the whole wide world- Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl Wudunn. It is a book that believes in women and their power in chaging the world. I would have like to have written it because if I did it would mean that I have accomplished something of significance for my sisters out there.

6.Which book would you adapt for the big screen and which actors would you choose to star in it?

The Little Mermaid. (It was a book before the film, well a fairytale but a book none the less.)

Leonardo DiCaprio would be Prince Eric. I would be Ariel and it would be the both of us splashing about in the ocean playing with fish and swimming away from the evil octopus. We would sing songs and get married at sunset. But because Leo is such a champ he would turn into a merman so I wouldn’t have to leave my family. We would have cute little merchildren and live happily ever after. But Leo would stay at home to look after the children whilst I would go to work every day. I ain’t no stay at home Princess.  Sorry I have got a little distracted. What was the question again?

7.Who is your literary idol?

Sophia Bush. She reads books that matter. Books of people who are making a difference.

 8.If you could have a dinner party with five writers, dead or alive, who would you choose?

i. Roald Dahl. To meet the man who gave me Matilda, The Twits and The BFG.

ii. F. Scott Fitzgerald. Who wouldn’t want to have dinner with a man who came up with one of my life matras.

Too much of anything is bad, but too much champagne is just right.

iii. Viktor Frankel. A survivor of the Holocaust and he still wrote a tribute to hope. The man is a hero. His book Man’s Search For Meaning literally broke me into pieces and then built me up again with his words of optimism.

iv. Gregory David Roberts. Author of Shantaram. I want to meet the mind that wrote the book that now contains some of my most favourite quotes.

“Sometimes we love with nothing more than hope. Sometimes we cry with everything except tears.”

v. Bram Stoker. Without a doubt Dracula is one of my most favourtie books. I am obsessed with Bram Stoker and Dracula. I must re-read this soon.

“There are darknesses in life and there are lights, and you are one of the lights, the light of all lights.”

 9.Which fictional world would you like to live in?

I wouldn’t want to live in any fictional world. What I like about reading is that I can go anywhere and see anything. There are no limits. I couldn’t pick just one. But I guess if I HAD to choose it would be Where the Wild Things Are. I wanna join a rumpus!

 10.What do you enjoy most about reading?

I love the silence. Teaching is a noisy profession.

11.What three books would you take on a desert island?

i. A book about the country I was visiting: I always try to read a book about the country or set in the country whilst visiting it. I think it is so important to learn about where you are travelling to. I love to learn about the world and all our different cultures.

ii. A book to remind me of my family: Heidi. My mum is called Heidi and one of my favourite memories is growing up and reading this book with her. I would read one page and she would read the next. It is one of my favourite memories.

iii. A book about pirates: I went to Thailand a couple of years ago and read Treasure Island. It was perfect. I imagined Pirates raiding our island as I read on the beach. I imagined us drinking an awful lot of Rum together and dancing around the beach fire.

11 questions for my chosen bloggers.

1. Pick up the book that you are reading now. What is it? Write the first line.
2. What is your favourite quote from a book?
3. If you could have any job in the world what would it be?
4. What’s the top thing on your Bucket List?
5. Where do you want to travel to next?
6. Who inspires you?
7. Tell us one good thing that has happened to you today. It can be little or big.
8. If you were your own religion what would it be made up of?
9. The best feeling is…?
10. Your best friend is making a speech about you at your 60th birthday party. What would you like them to say?
11. What’s the best piece of advice you have ever been told
12. What advice would you give to other bloggers?

My chosen bloggers are: ( I see that you have been nominated before but you are defiantly 5 of my favourites right now)

With Love From Opal
The Adventures of Noble and Pond

A wondering nomad

Yasmine Rose’s Book Blog

Hadorable

One thought on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

