Beauty Haul #1

 Hi there.

My name is Sophie and I used to be an exclusively High End make up type of girl.

That was until I came across (embarrassingly late in the game….like 5 days ago!) the world of YouTube make up tutorials. Tanya Burr and Zoella have literally changed my expensive make up ways.

They have been around for a few years now and I have literally watched them all in the past 5 days. Well maybe not them all but a worryingly large number of them.

The things I love the most?

Their haul videos.

They have made me run out screaming like a wild woman all the way to Boots and Superdrug to try products from brands that up until a few days ago I didn’t even realize existed.

I thought that I wold share with you my first ever High street/Drugstore make up haul. By the way all of these products have been recommend in various videos that I have watched over the past week.

Ready?

Here goes…

1. Collection- Lasting perfection ultimate wear concealer.

DSC00566

concealer

I remember buying Collection 2000 back when it was called Collection 2000. Now it is just called Collection. But it’s basically the same thing. Maybe they changed the name because we aren’t in the 2000’s anymore! Who knows?

I got this  in Warm Medium (no.3). It claims to conceal flaws and blemished for up to 16 hours. I don’t usually wear make up for 16 hours in one go but I can safely say that it  does last a long time. It has a really good coverage and only a little is needed to cover any redness or blemishes on my face. My last concealer was from Chanel and cost £28. This cost £4.19 and it lasts longer and you need to use a lot less of it. I’m sold! The downside…finding the right colour for me was a nightmare. The shelves were barely stocked, most of the non testers had been tested and the display was nowhere near as pretty as Chanel’s. But if i’m saving £24 then I don’t mind routing around to find the right one!

2. Revlon- Photoready Skinlights face illuminator.

DSC00567

illunminator

I think that these are first ever Revlon products that I have purchased.

This claims to give you a healthy glow in any light. It will banish dullness and even out skin with its light-capturing crystals and photochromatic pigments.

Well I don’t know what a photochromatic pigment is but this makes my skin look so pretty and shimmery. I got this in Pink Light (no.200) and it cost £11.99. A little bit more expensive but you get a lot of product for the price. Especially as I have found that you only need a tiny amount to cover a lot of skin! I use this as a highlighter under my eyebrows, down the centre of my nose and on my cheek bones. 

I am completely new to highlighting and contouring but I am going to experiment more with this in the next couple of weeks. I have bookmarked a few blogs/video posts to read/watch first so that I can learn the basics.

This is such a beautiful colour and goes on like a dream. I am going to invest in some other highlighting products as this has got a definite shimmer to it. I need to find out if that is a good or bad thing. Surely if I am going to highlight/contour to the extent of this picture then I don’t want just a shimmery product as I may look like I have alien skin:

Any contouring/highlighting experts out there? Any tips?

I have my eye on this…Mac Cosmetics Mineralize Skinfinish in Soft and Gentle. Not a high street product I know but I’m not claiming to be a complete convert!!

Anyway back to the Revlon…I like this  it a lot and will continue to use it. It doesn’t last as long as the concealer but I don’t mind touching up during the day!

3. Revlon- Colourburst Matte Balm

DSC00558

DSC00569[1]

I got this is in mischievous (no. 235). This is such a pretty coral/orangey colour. I blend this into my lips so that the colour is not too intense. I have found that this is the beauty of this product.  You can build up the colour to whatever shade suits you. Its stays on for a pretty decent amount of time. I wore it at the weekend when at the pub with some friends and this lasted through one too many drinks. It is also really easy to apply. I’m its newest fan.

4. Revlon- Just Bitten Kissable balm stain.

DSC00560

lipstain

I got this in Lovesick (no.020). I am a massive fan of bright pink lips. Especially shiny bright pink lips. Especially shiny bright pink lips that last and last and last. This ticks all of those boxes. A beautiful colour that sticks around. When I swatched the colour on my hand I washed it off with soap and water and it wouldn’t fully come off. I like that. I like it a lot.

Both this and the Colourburst Matte Balm are priced at £7.99. But I got one of these for three as I managed to pick them up in the Boots 3 for 2 sale. High 5 for free stuff!

5. Real Techniques- Core Collection kit.

DSC00577

DSC00576

I vowed a while ago to increase my make up brush collection. I have read so much about how wonderful the Real Techniques brushes are so I wanted to try them out for myself. I thought that I would buy the set as it works out as such good value per brush. It cost £21.99 and you get 4 brushes so that is (gets out calculator) £5.50 per brush. It just makes sense!

In the set you geta detailer brush, pointed foundation brush, buffing brush and contour brush. They also come in a case that you can fold into a stand and includes extra storage for any additional brushes you may have. I am loving them so far. The brushes are so soft and apply the make up really really well. I’m not a brush expert but I can tell already that these are good and I will definitely buy more.  I recommend, I recommend, I recommend.

I haven’t yet washed these so it will be interesting to see how they are after they have been washed. My Chanel blush brush has lost many of its bristles in the first wash.

6. Sleek- Blush by 3.

DSC00565

sleek icing sleek mac

sleek pink mint

Next I headed over to Superdrug to ogle over the Sleek blushes and powders.

The first thing I picked up was a beautiful beautiful Blush Trio. It is called Pink Lemondade (no. 369) and has two powder blushes and one cream one. I have never used a cream blush before so I am excited to see what this is like. I need to work out how exactly to use it first!!

The powder blushes: The lighter pink one is called icing Sugar and the slightly darker one ins called Pink Mint. I have used them separately and together and they look so nice. They are highly pigmented and last for such a long time. This set could last a complete lifetime. I’m a convert. Although I don’t think that they will ever take away my love for Nars & Mac bronzers and blushes. Just a lovely little additional extra! At £9.99 for three making them £3.33 each it would be rude to not buy all the sets!

7. Sleek- Luminous  Pressed Powder.

DSC00563

I have never used powder before. Well I have when I was about 14 and I first started experimenting with make up. I caked it on and my mother told me that I looked like a chalk board. The meanie. Every video tutorial that I have watched involves powder so I succumbed to blogger pressure and got some.

I got the sleek powder as I have heard some great things about it in Shade 1. It was £6.99 and it also contains SPF 15. I know that I am getting old when I get excited by products that contain SPF.

I never normally buy the lightest shade of a product as I have olive coloured skin but the number 2 was far too dark for me! I like this. I only need to use a tiny amount and it takes away just enough of the shine to make my skin look a lot nicer but not too much that I look like a matte disaster. I’m impressed.

Last but by no means least…

8. Maybelline- The Falsies Volume Express Black Drama.

I am on a hunt for the perfect mascara. I recently purchased Benefit- They’re Real and to be completely honest I wasn’t all that impressed. I suppose that I do like it but it takes a lot of work for me to think that my lashes look beautifully wow.

I was strolling through Tescos buying bananas for my mum and I stumbled across this mascara. I remember hearing a lot of good things in the various videos I have watched on Youtube. So for £7.99 I thought: Ok yeah I’ll go for it!

I’m glad I did. It’s a great little mascara where for the first time I have found less is more.

Only time will tell if my hunt for the perfect mascara is over….

2 thoughts on “Beauty Haul #1

  1. love this, really detailed post, was going to try that revlon one but wasn’t sure (always get mac prep n prime, too scared to branch out)

Leave a Reply

