Fresh Spring Rolls with Mango Dipping Sauce.

So yesterday I told you all about how I recently became a vegetarian.

I actually am trying to eat vegan whenever I can. However, as I work in a boarding school I could just find myself eating lettuce and tomatoes a little too often if I went full-time vegan.

Last night I had time to cook for myself so I got out my snazzy new app: Deliciously Ella. It is a beautiful collection of vegan food and I am slowly working my way through all of the recipes and am discovering some of my new favorite forever meals.

Last night I thought that I would give some raw vegan food a go… as far away as it gets from the rarest of steaks that I was eating just over a month ago.

I felt like something fresh and fruity so I went for the Fresh Spring Rolls with Mango Dipping Sauce.

Ella writes that the recipe should take 10 minutes and is enough for one person.

Ingredients:

For the rolls:

*About 5 rice paper rolls

*1 large carrot

*1 red pepper

*1 zucchini (courgette)

*Spinach leaves

For the mango dip:

*1 mango

*1 avocado

*1/2 a jalapeno pepper

1. Get out all your products and assemble them into something that looks vaguely pleasing for a obligatory ‘I shop at Waitrose’ before photo.

DSC01655

DSC01656

2. Peel the mango, scoop out the avocado and de seed the jalapeno pepper and put all into a food processor.

Chef Blunt tip: Do yourself a favor and do not bother buying a whole mango. Just buy pre peeled pre cut mango and save yourself the time and the mess that I created. It took me about 20 minutes to do the mango and a further 10 minutes to clean up the remnants of the mango juice explosion.

DSC01657 DSC01660

3. Blend until smooth and pour into bowl for dipping.

I used my Blend active and added a tiny amount of coconut water to aid the blending process. This blender has honesty changed my life and will get its own blog post soon so watch this space…

DSC01666 DSC01667 DSC01672

4. Peel the carrots and chop them, the zucchini and red pepper into thin strips.

DSC01676

5. Soften the rice paper rolls.

To do this I put hot water from a tap into a wok and soaked each rice paper for 2 seconds and blotted them with a clean tea towel.

DSC01685

6. Assemble.

DSC01686 DSC01688 DSC01690

Now that I have written out this recipe for myself I am confused as to why it took me nearly 45 minutes to make it. My biggest struggle was that damn mango. I have never had to cut a mango before. I never want to do it again.

My honest opinion:

DSC01694 DSC01696 DSC01699

Would I make the rolls again? I’m not sure. I think that I may have over soaked the rice paper rolls a little as I can only imagine that they had the exact same texture as over cooked skin. Don’t get me wrong they were absolutely delicious but felt so weird in my mouth.

The star of this recipe is the mango dipping sauce. O  my freaking goodness it is absolutely gorgeous! Smooth, creamy, fruity with a subtle hint of spice from the jalapeno pepper. Next time I think that I would mix in some cherry tomatoes after blending the other three ingredients. It would also be perfect instead of guacamole should you ever want a substitute to guacamole. After eating this sauce I would pick it over guacamole anytime.

Maybe give the rolls a miss but give the sauce a try. Trust me. I guarantee you wont regret it.

 DSC01675

One thought on “Fresh Spring Rolls with Mango Dipping Sauce.

Leave a Reply

