The Beautiful and Damned.

photo

It has been a long time since I have written a book review on this blog! Which I find so funny as this blog started as a book all about blogs….blunts book blog. Two years later the name changed to Blunt Blogs but the love of books has never left nor my love of blogging about them. I just expanded my blog to match my many different interests.

I have just finished reading The Beautiful and Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald. It was first published in 1922 and showcases what life was like in the café society of early 1920’s New York.

It is the story of Harvard educated Antony Patch and his beautiful wife Gloria as they await to inherit the fortune from his Grandfather. As they wait their marriage sways under the influence of alcohol and avarice.

People have commented that this book would have benefited from some more aggressive editing, I don’t fully agree. Yes the plot was a little bit chunky. Yes the pace was uneven. But a little bit of me loved every single one of this book’s flaws. People complain that the plot became tired as it neared the end. But surly the plot echoes the tiredness felt by the two protagonists.

It is not a glamorous book. But why would it or should it be?

This book shows the reader that the notion that ‘glamour’ is fleeting and is for those that can afford it both financially and mentally. At its core it’s a book about addiction and the slow decay it brings. This book is much less censored than Gatsby and for that I find it all the more interesting.

I like to read books about people. This served just nicely.

It’s not the best book that I have ever read but it is certainly not the worst.

If you like action do not pick up this book. If you like a fast paced, loveable characters and like to hide from the reality of life do not pick up this book.

If you like to explore the darkness of real life, if you like the harrowing, if you like to explore privilege and failure than you might as well give this ago!

I would give  this 3/5 stars on Goodreads.

As always I will end with some of my favorite quotes:

Here’s to alcohol, the rose-colored glasses of life.

Things are sweeter when they’re lost. I know–because once I wanted something and got it. It was the only thing I ever wanted badly, Dot, and when I got it it turned to dust in my hand.

I don’t want just words. If that’s all you have for me, you’d better go.

Tired, tired with nothing, tired with everything, tired with the world’s weight he had never chosen to bear.

And my favorite two:

A woman should be able to kiss a man beautifully and romantically without any desire to be either his wife or his mistress.

Life is so damned hard, so damned hard… It just hurts people and hurts people, until finally it hurts them so that they can’t be hurt ever any more. That’s the last and worst thing it does.

One thought on “The Beautiful and Damned.

  1. Pingback: September favourites. | Blunt Blogs

Leave a Reply

