Blunt’s weekend kitchen: Vegan Chana Masala.

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I am enjoying the fact that I am truly back into blogging. I have made a schedule and I am even writing this post 4 days ahead of publishing time which is an absolute first! I used to be a write and publish straight away blogger. O how much has changed. I have decided to do a regular feature every Saturday of the week. I am going to share some of my newly discovered vegetarian/vegan dishes. They have been all made and tested by my fair hands…and mouth so expect honest reviews and some great first reaction pics! I have constantly been browsing blogs all about vegetarian and vegan food and am so excited to share with you a recipe form one of my absolute favourites: Cookie & Kate . Kate is a blogger who cooks fresh, vegetarian recipes and Cookie is her adorable dog who ‘catches the crumbs.’ I was looking for something hearty and warming as my flat is blooming freezing at the moment, so I decided to go for a Vegan Chana Masala. I have never tried a Chana Masala before but I adore trying new foods so I thought ‘why the hell not’ and rushed to Tescos to by the ingredients. So let’s get crack a lacking shall we? This makes just the right amount for two people. Or for one person who wants to save some the next day! You will need:

DSC01877

* 1/2 tablespoon of coconut oil. * 3/4 tsp. Cumin seeds * 1 onion * 3 cloves of ginger *1 inch piece of garlic * 1/2 chili * 3/4 tsp. Garam masala * 3/4 tsp. ground coriander

* 3/4 tsp. ground turmeric *1/2 tsp. fine-grain sea salt * 1 can of plum tomatoes in their juices * 1 can of chickpeas in water

*enough rice for two people * 1 lemon

1. Melt your coconut oil. I use the Groovy food company’s Virgin Coconut oil. It smells delicious, melts quickly and gives a slight flavour to food.   DSC01880 DSC01881 DSC01882   2. Toast your Cumin seeds on a medium to low heat until they are golden and smelling delicious. Remember to keep stirring then. (Takes around 2 minutes)   DSC01883 DSC01884   3. Raise the heat to medium and stir in your onion, pressed garlic, ginger and half a chili.  The recipe for two tells you to use just half an onion. I used a whole one as I love it! It was not over powering in the slightest and added a lovely texture. Cook until a nice golden colour.   DSC01885 DSC01887   4. Add your garam masala, coriander, turmeric and salt and stir for a couple of minutes to ensure it is all distributed evenly.   DSC01888 5. Add the tin of plum tomatoes and all of their juices. Bash up the tomatoes a bit but remember to leave some chunks for texture!

DSC01889

As you can see at this point my water for the rice was starting to boil. I used Waitrose brown basmati, red camargue and wild rice mix. It is delicious, so much healthier for you and has a lovely texture! I just gauge how much I need by eye. Read instructions on how long to boil for.

DSC01897

  DSC01899

6. Increase heat to high-medium. Drain your chickpeas and stick them in the curry!

DSC01890 DSC01894

DSC01895

7. Leave to simmer for 10-20 minutes. The timing is dependant on how long your rice takes to cook.

DSC01896

8. Once simmered enough it should look a little something like this…

DSC01900

9. Serve over your rice with a slice of lemon.

DSC01904

Trust me about the lemon. It just really works in a curry. It highlights all of the spices and just makes things a bit zingy!

DSC01911

Now what did I think?

DSC01913 DSC01914 DSC01929

 It was quite simply delicious. Never before have I cooked a curry with such depth of spice and flavour. I really was quite proud of myself! It is perfect for the colder weather which is quickly approaching us in London. defiantly give it ago, if you are vegan, a vegetarian or even meat eater. I didn’t miss the meat in the slightest. It’s one of the tastiest curries that I have had. Bravo Cookie and of course Kate! I’ll be back to your food blog sooner than soon!

One thought on “Blunt’s weekend kitchen: Vegan Chana Masala.

  1. Pingback: September moments. | Blunt Blogs

Leave a Reply

