September favourites.

I don’t think that I have ever done a monthly favourites on this blog.

First ever monthly favourites on Blunt Blogs- LETS GO!

 

DSC02000.JPG

Skincare:

1. Emma Hardie Amazing Face Morning Cleansing Balm. £36

 

DSC02001.JPG

Where do I begin?

There has been so much hype around this product that I just had to try it our for myself and I think that I picked it up around April time and it is still going strong. I was a true Liz Earle Clense and Polish gal and I wasn’t sure how I would get on with an oil based cleanser. I was scared of breakouts and of a residue being left on my face. This was not the case at all and instead it leaves you skin feeling soothed, clean and most importantly not stripped of all its natural oils.

I have combination skin and this has done such a great job of balancing it out.

I used to use this morning and evening but have now decided just to reserve this for evening use. It seemed a bit of a waste to use this in the AM as I’m not wearing any make up, so I use a blemish fighting bad boy from The Body Shop instead. I do find that I am almost excited to use this product when I roll in from a day at work. It is such a lovely experience.

This is such a gentle cleanser and I would recommend it for all skin types. Don’t be scared to give it a go if you haven’t used a balm before, like me you might just be pleasantly surprised.

Haircare:

2. OGX Weightless Hydration Coconut Water Shampoo. £6.99

DSC02002.JPG

I have used Aussie products for absolute years and whilst I had nothing to grumble about I just felt like going a bit crazy and trying out something new. I browsed the aisles in Boots and picked this up. Why? Because it smells freaking delicious. I have been obsessed with all things coconut recently. I think its because Summer is quickly disappearing and I’m not quite ready to let it go just yet.

Well this bad boy seems to be sold out everywhere and I am feeling a little bit smug that I managed to stock up before that happened.

I have a lot of hair to care for. It is thick and at times unmanageable. I like a shampoo that leaves it feeling clean not only of the grime that collects in it but free of all product also. I can’t have any shampoo up in my hair causing more weight or heaviness. This makes my hair feel cleaner for longer as it leaves no residue at all which is more than very pleasing!

Give it a go. I reckon you might just love it too.

3. OGX Ever Straight Brazilian Keratin Therapy Conditioner. £6.99

I like to buy a conditioner from the same company as my Shampoo. I don’t know why I just do. This one is packed full of some delicious ingredients, including: coconut oil, keratin proteins, avocado oil and cocoa butter. This could not be further apart from my weightless shampoo. But hey I like a weightless shampoo but a nourishing conditioner.

I smother this over my hair, roots and all and leave it for a handful of minutes to do its job. The result: a beautiful smelling mane with no fly aways! I have a lot of fly aways. I hate them.  Just brilliant!

Make-up:

4. By Terry Ombre Blackstar Eye Shadow in Frozen Quartz. £28

DSC02008.JPG

DSC02004.JPG

DSC02012.JPG

I brought this as a present for myself on my birthday and have used little else since welcoming it into my make-up family. .

Frozen Quartz is the prettiest pale pink shade and it is absolutely perfect for a pretty day time look.

However, its not necessarily the colour that I love the most about this product. Instead I love how reliable it is. Minimal effort and I promise you that it will stay in place ALL day! One swipe of the stick over your eyelid and a bit of a blend with a trusty Mac 217 brush or a finger and you are good to walk out of the door and not worry about it at all!  I am in love and am constantly trying to justify to myself that I need more…that I need every shade. Maybe one day soon I will pick up a few more colours.

One of the easiest eye products that I have ever used. I love.

5. Nars Sheer Glow Foundation in Fiji £31

DSC02015-0.JPG

DSC02016-0.JPG

Having used the Yves Saint Laurent Le Teint Touche Éclat to death I was desperate to try out some other foundations. I have read/watched endless reviews on the Nars Sheer Glow foundation and I am here to tell you today that it lives up to all the hype and then some more. It is just fabulous. It provides a medium to full coverage and gives you a gorgeous, satin finish.

I got it in the shade Fiji which is perfect for keeping up with my Summer skin. I will however switch to a slightly lighter shade soon as Winter is creeping up on us folks!

This is a new favourite that I think will always be around in my make up collection. I purchased this in early August and have not picked up another foundation since.

6. Max Factor Colour Elixir Lipstick in Bewitching Coral £7.99

DSC02019.JPG

I have mentioned a couple of times already that I have found it hard to let go of Summer. One way that I have really noticed this is in my choice of lipsticks. I haven’t worn this almost perfect coral shade everyday but when I have I am always impressed by its lasting power, its pigment, the way that you can blot it to look more of a natural stain or build it up for some face pizazz! This is my first Max Factor purchase and I am really impressed. The packaging is the nicest of any drugstore lipsticks that I own. It gives you a velvet finish that is moisturising and glides on the lips with ease.

7. Chanel Le Vernis Nail colour in Peridot £18.

DSC02021.JPG

Unfortunately I think this colour was limited edition and is now sold out. I would never normally blog about a product that you can no longer get your hands on but I can’t bring myself not to with this one. It is the most luxurious colour that I own. I have been using the Barry M Gelly Shine varnishes pretty much all summer and then a few days ago I went back to a couple of my Chanel varnishes. I can’t believe the difference. I had fooled myself that the Barry M ones were amazeballs but when compared to these more expensive options they pale in comparison. Peridot dries quickly, goes on like a dream and after two coats provides just the right amount of colour. Yes it may chip easily if not used with a top coat but for a special meal or a night out it blings up your fingers and everyone will comment on how beautiful your nails look.

Pure glamour.

Restaurant:

IMG_2320.JPG

Now this one is easy.

Hands down the best restaurant that I have been to this month is Pizza Pilgrims on Carnaby Street. PP’s were originally famed for their pop up pizza van that I have not yet had a chance to visit but after reading many reviews and spotting that they have just opened their first restaurant I ran there with The Boy in tow.

They don’t take bookings so it is perfect for a weekday treat. We arrived at 7pm and got a table straight away.

I went for the Margarita with buffalo mozzarella. It was simple but amazingly delicious. It is easily one of the best pizzas that I have ever eaten and so true to what real Italian pizzas taste and look like.

The Boy went for one with meat on as he always does.

I have found a new favourite pizzeria.

Just amazing.

Book:

The Beautiful and the Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald. Read the review here!

Music:

An old favourite has come back into my life.

I listened to The Cranberries on repeat for much of my Sixth Form and time at University. I will let their music do the talking.

Place:

IMG_2403.JPG

Taking this little girl out for a walk.

Read more about her here!

TV:

The Great British Bake Off. Not as great as last years but I am team Martha all the way! Easy Wednesday watching.

Food:

IMG_2247.JPG

IMG_2246.JPG

Poached Egg on Rye Bread with avocado.

Look out for how I make this- a post will be out on Saturday.

Activity:

Blogging. I am fully back into the routine and am absolutely loving it. This is the most consistent that I have been with blogging in about a year. I hope I never hit the blogging blues again and I fi do I will have hundreds of pre-written draft blog posts to use.

 

What a great month September has been but I’m ready for the cosy jumpers, chilly nights in reading books and country walks that October promises to bring.

Let me know what you have been loving this September and what you are looking forward

2 thoughts on “September favourites.

Leave a Reply

