Blunt’s Weekend Kitchen: French toast

I think that brunch might just be my favourite meal of the day.

Anthing goes..savoury, sweet, meaty, veggie, vegan.

It brings people together or it can be a perfect excuse for an indulgent morning to yourself.

I was in desperate need of a good old lie in might my brain was still in teacher mode and I woke up at 7.15 on my day off.

My mind could only think of one thing: FRENCH TOAST.

I pulled a hoodie on over my pajamas and headed out to Tescos to buy the few items that I was missing to make this morning treat for one.

I think that this is the perfect recipe to share in my weekend cookery slot as no one (unless they don’t work/works at home) has time to make this on a weekday morning. It tastes delicious but is super easy to make. It looks like you have made the effort but 90% of the ingredients I always have lying around in my cupboard. Quite simply its brunch perfection.

To make your own French Toast you will need: (enough for two!)

DSC02175

*ciabatta/thick slices of bread

*2 eggs

* double cream

*cinnamon

*honey

*vanilla

*salt

*butter

Toppings…I used:

*fresh raspberries

*white chocolate

*syrup I use agave syrup as it is the healthier alternative to maple.

1. Get a big mixing bowl and crack your two eggs into it.

DSC02179

2. Add a good glug of cream. I do all the measurements by eye. Exact quantities are not required I find.

DSC02182

3. Add a tiny splash of vanilla, a pinch of salt, a squeeze of honey and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

DSC02183DSC02185DSC02187

4. Whisk together.

DSC02188

5. Cut your bread into slices ( I prefer chunks)  and dip them into the mixture making sure that they are thoroughly coated in the eggy goodness.

DSC02196 DSC02199

6. Melt a little butter in a frying pan/skillet.

DSC02194

7. Once melted add your chunks of bread and cook until golden on one side. Flip and make sure that both sides are golden! (Takes me around 3 minutes per side.

DSC02201

8. Once cooked put on a plate and add white chocolate chunks on top. They should melt beautifully from the toast heat.

9. Add raspberries and drizzle agave syrup all over.

DSC02204 DSC02206

10. Climb into bed with a book, magazine or netflix and enjoy.

Taste test:

DSC02212    DSC02222 DSC02221

My O my this is perfection. The wind was blowy and the rain was rainy but I was all warm and comfy cosy in bed reading some of my favourite magazines and wearing my Christmas socks.

Let me know if you give this a go. It also works smashingly for breakfast in bed for two!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blunt’s Weekend Kitchen: French toast

Leave a Reply

