Things to do in London this Christmas

London will always be my favourite city in the world.

London at Christmas?

Well it just doesn’t get any better.

The weather is crisp and cold, there are new fun things to do around every corner and if it’s possible the streets get even more beautiful as they are adorned in their twinkling festive lights.

I thought that I would make a list of all of the things that I would love to do this Christmas in London and I am going to try my hardest to do most of them!

1. Ice skating at Somerset House

Ice skating at Somerset House

The Sunday Times call Somerset House the ‘coolest rink of all’ and it really is. The setting is magnificently beautiful and just oozes Christmas charm. They have partnered up with Fortnum and Mason this year so you know that your post-skate hot chocolate will also be heavenly.

2. Festive eating.

So many pop up Christmas restaurants, lodges and bars arrive in London at this time of the year and I have done my absolute best to narrow it down to just three that I want to try.

DRAM-SMOKE-BACKUP

Every single part of me wants to visit Dram & Smoke in London Bridge this winter. Communal tables, speakers playing big tunes, and oodles of whiskey promise to make one hell of an evening. I need to check if there are vegetarian options as the menu, being Scottish, looks very meat heavy. But look out Dram & Smoke, I am coming!

Le Chalet

Located at the top of Selfridges on Oxford Street, Le Chalet is the most sort after of all Christmas pop-up restaurants. I have a reservation here for the 9th January and I am so excited to see if it lives up to the hype. I can already tell that I am in love with the lap blankets that they provide and I cant wait to get all snuggled up and to review it here for you all.

The Winter Cabin Duke and Albany

Gordon Ramsey’s Winter pop up cabin is back by popular demand. I need to sort out my social calendar for this Christmas as I am dying to visit whilst it is still here if I have the time. Tucked away in Camden, close to Regent’s Park, The Winter Pop up can fit around 8-12 people  at one time and offers goodies such as rum hot chocolate, spiced Bloody Marys and all come with festive snacks.  I think it would be the perfect stop off after a long wintery walk around the park.

3. Make the time to watch a show.

Theatre is one of the biggest loves of my life. Every holiday I try to find the time to see a show and this Christmas is no exception as I already have two booked.

Merry F**king Christmas

The first is with my wonderful friend Cat and we are going to see Nick Helm’s show Merry Christmas Mother f**kers. It should be a super fun evening and have the perfect mix of  festive songs, poems, gags, guests, guts and gifts!

The second show I am seeing with my beautiful mother and two of our oldest family friends and we are seeing Miss Saigon. I am super excited as I have heard great things about it. I can’t wait to see some of my favourite musical songs on stage for the first time.

Miss Saigon London

4. A wintery walk.

If there is one thing that my family loves to do at Christmas it is walking, especially now that we have our new beautiful puppy Coco. Walking around London at this time of the year is a great way to spend the day and see all of the sights.

My number one place to walk at this time of the year:

The Thames

London’s river is beautiful at any time of the year but especially on a cold, snowy winters evening.

Thames at Christmas

Have you seen a more beautiful sight?

5. Indulge yourself.

Christmas is a time when we focus more on other people. That is utterly fabulous but we can lose our self and our own wellbeing during that time. We have to make sure that we are still looking after ourselves and that we make the time to spoil ourselves a little too.

My two favourite ways to give myself a treat (on vastly different budgets)are:

  • A massage. Location: Mandarin Oriental, Hyde Park. £155

Avoid the madness and tackiness of Winter Wonderland and properly pamper yourself with a massage at one of my favourite Hotel’s spas. It ain’t cheap but the luxurious surroundings and the time to yourself with leave you feeling a million dollars. I like to end this with a trip to The Mandarin Bar or The Roseberry for a glass of champagne.

  • Find the perfect book to snuggle up with on a cold winter’s evening.

Daunt Books in Marylebone is my favourite book shops of all time. It is cute and quirky and is the best shop to spend a couple of leisurely hours all to yourself hunting for the perfect books to read over Christmas.

And last but not least:

6. Through a kick ass party with your nearest and dearest.

There is no other city in the world that I would rather throw a Christmas party in than London.

One of my favourite places to host the perfect bash is somewhere where there is great food and potent drinks. At the moment the location that I would love to use would be Spuntino in Soho. Plus Soho is the perfect spot in London for some festive naughtiness.

4573458

Just imagining having this space to myself for the evening with my closest friends has me in the Christmas spirit already. The food is incredible and the drinks are killer.

There really would be no place I would rather be.

Where are you planning on spending this Christmas?

4 thoughts on “Things to do in London this Christmas

Leave a Reply

