Dreaming of leaving

If I had a bigger flat or even my own house with a study (the ultimate dream) I would buy one of those amazing old globes that spin and use it to plan all of my extravagant jaunts around the world.

Actually I would buy one of the globes just like Alan Carr has on his talk show. The ones that conceal a lethal amount of alcohol underneath their lid.

One a little bit just like this one.

IMG_0681.JPG

I often find myself spending hours looking at places that I want to travel to, where is would stay and jot down all the things that I want to do.

I am blessed to have some amazingly long holidays as a teacher and I am lucky enough that i get to travel multiple times a year in them.

I have seen some amazing things:

From witnessing the most magnificent of family walks

To the glittering lights and all the hopes and dreams that they represent in NYC.

But it’s not I enough.

I want to go everywhere and anywhere and I want to see everything that this beautiful world of ours contains.

I want to meet people from different cultures, who believe and trust in different things and I want to get to know their stories.

I think that I truly would be my happiest if I got to travel everyday. It breathes a new sense of life into me. A life full of adventure, colour and…

I thought that today I would share with you 5 of the places that I think that I want to go to the most.

1 Bali

Morning time at Sanur Beach, Bali.

Travel Asian "Children's boat on Pura Ulun Danu, Bratan Lake, Bali " by Gianni CicaleseBecause how could anyone not want to go to Bali? The perfect mix of culture, adventure and pure relaxational bliss Bali is at the absolute top of my list.
2. Cambodia

mer-de:  Bagan, Before Dawn Virtually all of Bagan’s 3,000 temples, pagodas and shrines are active and in good repair today, maintained for religious use by both locals and distant benefactors. Most were built between the 9th and 13th centuries.

 

Angkor Wat - monks have been watching sunset like this for more than a thousand years from the time when Cambodia covered a much larger territory than now.

I want to see the sun rise over Angkor Wat. I want to sip cocktails on the beautiful beaches. I want to mediate under a fabulous tree.
3. Japan

Tarai Boat (Tub Boat) River Cruise  in Ogaki, Gifu, Japan

By Michael Chandler momoyama | Kyoto, Japan : Hassaku 八朔 舞妓 章乃さん 清乃さん     https://www.flickr.com/photos/michaelchandler/9412726181/I will always be fascinated by the colours, culture and creativity in Japan. Take me immediately!
 4. Russia

Winter in RussiaThis woman is from the Khunty tribe. An endangered indigenous people who live in Russia. Their clothing is beautiful.I want to spend a snowy Christmas in Russia and pretend for one moment life is like a Tolstoy Novel.

 5. Rwanda

Fog Enshrouded Rain Forest in Rwanda’s Virunga Mountains~ by Michael Nichols!

Africa | Intore dancer flicking his hair. Rwanda | © Ariadne Van Zandbergen

 

I want to meet Rwanda’s people, devour its history and meet the Gorillas.

There you have it, my top 5!

If you could go anywhere today where would it be?

One thought on “Dreaming of leaving

  1. Teach in London for a while and backpack Europe! I’ve been wanting to do that for years and finally got round to it starting last Summer. It’s wonderful! Either that or start in Japan to see the far East. But if you’re dreaming it, you have to take the plunge and just do it! Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

