5 better ways to spend your Christmas money

Dear Reader,

If you are reading this blog post than I think it is safe to say you are doing pretty well. You have a computer on which you are reading this right now …that means you have access to electricity and presumably a roof above your head right now because I haven’t seen too many computers outside and it is too freezing (well in the UK at least) to be reading this on an iPad outside. If you are reading this on an iPad outside…it is not worth it! Go inside and get warm.

So lets say that we (me writing, you reading) are doing well for yourself. You were lucky enough to get some money for Christmas and are looking for ways in which to spend it. Now…

If you are looking for the best sale bargains look elsewhere. Other people have written beautifully and included many 50% off the latest whatchamacallit and 50% off the latest product that promises to take 20 years off your face. That’s already been done. I’m not going to write about those myself.

Alos, please don’t get me wrong. I love whatchamacallits and would love to remove the lines that are slowly indenting my 26 year old face.

But, quite frankly (bluntly if I may), I once again find myself,  a little bit disgusted. Images of shoppers whacking each other over the head with cheap televisions, women scratching one another’s eyes out over that discounted handbag that they just need to grab in every single colour. All of the ‘normal’ shopping behaviour is out of the window and chaos has descended.

There is something that I deeply dislike about sales. I honestly think it brings out the worst in SOME human beings. You too may have been a little shocked about recent Black Friday images here in the UK…hold up…WE DON’T EVEN CELEBRATE THANKSGIVING!

If you managed to escape them then I have included a couple below for you to catch up:

PicMonkey Collage

 

Grown men being pinned to the floor by security. Strangers battling it out for the best deal. Personal space and niceties completely out of the question int the great quest for a bargain.

Imagine if the people in the queue in the first picture were not queuing to gain access to a shop but queuing to donate blood. What kind of difference might that make to those that are fighting for their life.

I know this is not the case or the norm for every sale shopper out there tonight. I’m not saying don’t go to the sales. I myself have picked up a couple of great bargains for myself today (in a totally respectabe manner, I might add!)

But how about we put a little bit of our Christmas money to something a little bit bigger than ourselves this year.

It doesn’t have to be much. It could just be something. Imagine if 1, 5, 10, 100, 1000,000 of us did that. What change might we make that could rock our world onto a better path even if just for a second.

So there you have it. My opinion on the sales and how bonkers they can sometimes get. You may not agree with it all but hopefully you agree that we could all do a little bit more to help one another.

I thought that I might share with you 5 of my favourite alternative (and better uses) for your Christmas money this year.

Will you join me?

1. Find your local food collection bank, ask them what you need and pick up a couple of items to donate the next time you go shopping.

2. Buy that homeless person you pass each morning on the walk to work a coffee, a sandwich and a smile (the last one is FREE)

3. Fill your car with enough petrol to drive yourself to a local blood donation centre. Here is the link for you to find your local session. https://my.blood.co.uk/Home

4. Buy the ingredients to bake some cakes/goodies and take them to your local elderly residents home. While your their give them an hour of your time too and sit and chat to some of the residents. You will hear some of the most fascinating stories. I PROMISE.

5. Loan as little as $25 to someone trying to start-up their own business and people who are attempting to become self-sufficient in some of the worlds most poorest and dangerous countries. I currently help fund two girls educations and a doughnut stall in DRC Congo. It’s called a Kiva Loan and it helps improve lives.

It doesn’t have to be much,  just as much as you can afford. You might even find donating your time brings the greatest rewards not only to others…but also to yourselves.

Sophie x

4 thoughts on “5 better ways to spend your Christmas money

Leave a Reply

