2014 make up favourites.

So here is the deal…

I was going to write one big blog post about all of my favourites from 2014: makeup, skin care, tools, books, music…you get the picture.

Then I started to make my list and I realised that now we are back to work ain’t nobody got time to read all of that in one sitting.

So I’m going to split it all up and drip feed all of my favourite things to you over the course of January intertwined with other blog posts.

So I thought that I would begin with make-up.

This is the year (aged 26) that I really learnt a lot about and fell in love with make up. It’s my crack. It gets me excited. I have lists of things that I want to buy and lists of products to review. I adore it. I have in a short time built up a largish collection. I’m so excited to share my 2014 make-up highlights with you:

Foundation: Nars Sheer Glow in Fiji £31

nars1

This product has changed my life. Well not actually my whole life just my face! What did I do before this? O I know. I used some overly dewy sweat like finish YSL crap! I love the coverage that this foundation gives. Just enough to hide the things you don’t want to be seen but not so much that you look like you applied it with a trowel! You probably have this. If you don’t you need to try it. Sometimes I even think that I look kind of alright when I wear it.

Concealer: Estée Lauder Double Wear Stay in Place Flawless Wear Concealer in 02 Light Medium £21.50

conc

This is such an amazing product that I actually brought by mistake thinking it was the one that my friend recommended to me but it actually wasn’t but boy am I glad I made that mistake! A little goes such a long way! It is a triple threat: spot concealing, bag reducing and under eye-brightener and a little goes such a long way! I struggle with eye bags. I am the type of person who needs 9 hours sleep a night and if I don’t get it (most nights) I look tired quickly. This hides any evidence of late nights or burning the candle at both ends as my mother likes to call it. I have used this everyday (pretty much) for a good couple of months and it is not close to running out. I use a my fingers or Real Techniques deluxe crease brush to apply it and it just melts into my skin. MAGICAL STUFF

Highlighter: Mac Mineralise Skinfinish in Soft & Gentle £23

mac1

I really loved this stuff for the first half of this year and then I got my contour kit ( mentioned below) and haven’t picked it up so frequently. Writing this post and looking through my highlighter stash has reminded me to pick it up again and it is back in my make up bag and is ready to be used tomorrow morning. It is a very pretty highlight that really does give you an angelic glow. Just don’t use too much!

Blush: Bourjois Blusher in Sandalwood £7.99

burjois

On the quest for the perfect blush- I have a difficult time finding the right one. I don’t like pinky ones I much prefer bronzier shades! If I’m honest I only wear blush 2-3 times a week it is not an everyday product for me! I feel that my cheeks are something that I would much rather contour than draw attention to. The search continues for just the right one but this year I have been using this Bourjois number. It looks like a bronzer but it isn’t! It is darker than I see most people using but it has a gorgeous apricot shade running through it that I just adore!

Bronzer: Estée Lauder Bronze Goddess in 02 Medium £32

elb1

Bronzer is also a product that I don’t use daily. Only when I am wanting that perfect bronzed Olsen twin look! I purchased this Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess towards the start of 2014 and am surprised at how much I have picked it up! The packaging is beautiful! I just love tortoise-shell and the product colour is a beautiful non muddy looking shade that gives you a wonderful sun-kissed look. I’ve got a feeling I may be using this a lot more now that I am at my palest time of the year!

Contour: Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze & Glow £49

ct fbag1

ctfbag21
Starting from now I fear this post may become a Charlotte Tilbury love fest! How can one woman just get so many products so right? This contour kit looks luxurious and works like a dream. I describe my head as a moon head (a bit round) and it transforms hidden cheekbones into protruding ones and brings out the bits that the light would naturally shine on. I apply this with the Charlotte Tilbury Powder & Sculpt brush which I really recommend using. I use far less of the product with this brush then when I use others and it just creates a nicer more natural finish.

Brows: Lean in and I will tell you a secret. I don’t do one little thing to my brows. No product has ever been in them and you know what? I get compliment after compliment about them. Now that I have a fringe all that hard work would be wasted anyway! I guess I am just blessed by the brow gods!

Eyeshadow (single): Laura Mercier Metallic Creme Eye Colour in Alloy £19

lm1

In my eyeshadow obsession I found it so hard to pick just one eyeshadow but find it I did. I dug through the huge pile of singles that I have seemed to collect and realised that I have used this probably the most this year out of all of them. The alloy shade tells you everything that you need to know about my eyeshadow choices. I don’t ever use colour on the eyes. I think the most wild shade that I have is Mac’s Cranberry. Alloy is a beautiful metallic metal (alloy) colour. It is a cream eyeshadow and blends in beautifully with a MAC brush. I must do a make up look tutorial with this soon. Seriously easy to use and gives some beautiful results!

Eyeshadow (palette) Charlotte Tilbury: The Dolce Vita. £38

dv1

I, Sophie Blunt, am a lover of all things bronze and sun-kissed and goddess looking. This ticks all three of those boxes. When I use this I feel better about myself. Charlotte Tilbury’s make up has the ability to make a woman feel special and pretty and I think that is such a wonderful gift. I adore all 4 or the colours in this palette and I love how easy it is to use too (it gives you instructions on the back on where to place each shadow). There is something so special about this palette. Don’t think about it. Just buy it.

Eyeliner: Lancôme Le Crayon Khol in 01 Noir £16.50

lancome1

I don’t use liquid liner. I have a couple in my stash but use them so rarely they dry up only after a couple of uses. I am still all about the pencil liner. I rarely line above the lashes and instead I tend to tight line on the waterline. This Lancome one lasts pretty much all day. If I know that I am going for a super smoky eye the next day I will apply this before I go to bed and then when I wake up I’m half way there!

Mascara: Urban Decay Perversion and Subversion duo £17

ud1

Just like I am constantly on the hunt for the perfect blush, I am also constantly on the hunt for the perfect mascara! I have tried some right shockers this year! But this duo comes close to amazing! I only use the primer for evenings out and as a result have used a lot less of it but I have also paired it with other mascaras that I have in my rotation and it works perfectly fine! The actual mascara is blacker than black, holds a curl and adds definition and length. I’m not sure if I will be repurchasing this for the rest of my life but I do have a back up of the mascara (not the primer) in my makeup cupboard!

Nude Lip: K.I.S.S.I.N.G Penelope Pink by Charlotte Tilbury £23

ppp1

Yet another Tillers product. ( I like to call her that so it seems as if we are best friends). This is the first nude lipstick that I have purchased that doesn’t wash me out and look like those vile lighter than you lip shades people used to wear when I was 13. It is a pink based nude and is the perfect option if you have a super heavy eye look going ooonnnnn. It lasts for an age although does need to be applied again after eating but then I have to reapply all lipsticks during the course of the day. I think it is because I talk so much!

Lip Pencil: Charlotte Tilbury Lip Cheat in Pillowtalk £16

This is the year that I tried my first ever lip pencil and I’ll tell you what I am an absolute addict! They make your lipstick last 50 times longer, you can create a beautiful plump lip shape and they add just a little somethin’ somethin’ to your lip colour. This Charlotte Tilbury (roll eyes! Yes her again) Lip Cheat in Pillowtalk is the perfect nudey pink for underneath a nude lipstick. Yes I own more than one colour in these lip cheats. No I don’t own all of them…YET! If you haven’t tried a lip pencil yet give it ago! There are some great dupes on the high street.

Bold Lip: Yves Saint Laurent Rouge Pur Couture Vernis À Lèvres in 37

ysl

I wasn’t really sure if I was going to like this product but then I saw Cara modelling it so of course I gave it ago! That girl can get me to buy anything! You apply this in two stages. The first coating stains your lips and the second pumps up the colour and gloss! I say gloss but I do not find this sticky in the slightest and the colour lasts for absolute hours. This was my go to in the summer. A beautiful orangey red and I think that it looks beautiful on those who have darker features. I also wear this for work ALOT as I don’t have to worry about it for most of the day!

So they have been my 2014 make up favourites!

Comment down below what some of yours are! I love getting recommendations from other bloggers.

20 thoughts on “2014 make up favourites.

Leave a Reply

