What’s on my face today? #2: Spring matte eye with nude lip

dsc03435 done

The Easter holidays are here and I now have all the time in the world to do my make up. Yesterday I sat down at the dining room table (best natural lighting at my parents) and did it properly and it felt wonderful.

I thought that it was time for my second Whats On My Face Today? post (the last one was written in September!!!) I had so much fun writing this and taking the photos that I have even scheduled another one for next month already and will try my best to make them a new monthly feature.

So lets get started…

It all started with a before picture.

Fresh from the shower and untamed hair.

Base

 

Primer: Laura Mercier Foundation Primer Hydrating (sample) £29

I used the last of the sample that was given to me from Laura Mercier. It is aimed at those who need help with extra hydration. I’m not sure that I will purchase this in the full size as I found that it didn’t make a difference to my skin at all and I still had to put more moisturiser on top of it to sort out the few flakey (eww) patches that have emerged on my chin.

Foundation: Nars Sheer Glow in Fiji £31

This is one of the best foundations that I have ever used. A medium coverage that can definitely be built into much more of a full coverage foundation. The world of beauty bloggers have written enough about this foundation so I won’t go into an in-depth review but take my word this is not a product that has a false hype surrounding it. The result that it gives is flawless and I reach for it nearly everyday.

Under Eye Concealer: Rimmel Wake Me Up  in True Ivory  £5.49

As you can see in this picture I am having to now scrape the last of this product from the tube. I have not found another high street concealer that does such a great job of covering and brightening up my hefty eye bags. I prefer this 10x more than the Nars Creamy Concealer but this could due to the fact that I am convinced I was matched to the wrong shade at the Nars counter.

Blemish Concealer: Estée Lauder Double Wear in Light Medium  £21.50

I am rocking some major spots (they can not be called blemishes) at the moment which are purely hormonal. There is not another concealer that I trust more to make them disappear than this one. It is seriously heavy-duty stuff and masks spots, blemishes and discoloration in a way that does not make your skin look cakey and it lasts all day too.

Powder: Rimmel Stay Matte in Transparent £3.99

I mentioned above that I have dehydrated skin so I only use powder to set my make up rather than to combat face oils. This is super affordable and can be used with a light hand to give just enough product to set your base without altering any products that you may have already applied. When something is this good for under £4 why go high-end?

Contour & Highlight: Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow  £49

This is not the first time that this product has been mentioned on my blog and I 100% know that it won’t be the last. Not only is the packaging stunningly on point but the product inside DOES ITS JOB. The contour shade when nestled underneath your cheekbone shadows just enough to suck them in. It is extremely buildable and I must confess that I am not so light- handed when I’m going out in the evening. The highlight shade kisses the high points of your face and leaves a beautiful candle lit glow. It’s not sparkly but instead makes you look as if you are glowing from within.

Bronzer: Estée Lauder Bronze Goddess in Medium £32

I have naturally blushed cheeks so I tend to not use blush all of the time, especially when I have just come out of the shower. I instead whack the smallest bit of this onto the apples of my cheeks, jaw, hairline and temples as it injects a little bit of colour into my winter pale skin. I also blend in a little bit over my contour to avoid any stripyness and then I blend over both with my foundation brush to get rid of harsh edges.

dsc03496-0done

Eyes

Urban Decay Naked Palette £38

This is my very first naked palette and I only purchased it two weeks ago! I know where have I been!!! I am absolutely loving it so far and this is another product that lives up to the hype that surrounds it.

Mobile lid: Naked 

My name is Sophie Blunt and I love a sparkly/shimmery eyeshadow. However, with the purchase of this predominately shimmery eye palette came two matte shades. The other day I was trying to switch up my at times predictable eyeshadow choices and decided to use Naked all over the lid and I fell in love with it instantly. This shade is so easy to blend and is packed full of pigment which means that a little goes a long way. Now I’m not saying that I am ditching my shimmers but let me tell you that I have been researching other matte eyeshadows in a hardcore way. Naked is a beautiful matte medium beige-brown. It has a very soft, smooth texture and is not at all powdery or chalky.

Crease: Buck

I use Buck in the crease to add a bit of depth to the eye socket. It is another matte shade that blends beautifully and warms up the eye achieving a bronzy eye look that I just adore. I also ran this under my bottom lash line with a Mac 219 brush to make my eyes look bigger. Buck is really just the darker version of naked so they work really beautifully together.

Inner corner: Charlotte Tilbury Palette in The Dolce Vita £38

dsc03556

I find myself turning to this shade a lot for an inner corner/tear duct highlight. Yes it is a shimmery shade but I find when matched with mattes it brightens up the eye and makes me look much more awake than I actually feel.

Eyeliner: Stila Smudge Stick in Damsel £13

I have this bad boy for a while now but I have never really used it until recently. I find myself steering clear of my black liners and picking up this dark brown one instead. I prefer the fact that it gives a softer look and isn’t as harsh as the black kohl eyeliners I own.  I lined my water line (top and bottom) with it and also ran it across my top lash line before I smudged it out with a Mac 217 as I love the messier look that this gives.

Mascara: Lancôme Grandiose in Black  £24.50

Obsessed.com with this mascara. I don’t need to curl my eyelashes with this mascara as I find it gives them some lift by itself. I have naturally curly eyelashes and often make the mistake of over curling them which can make me look crazy. I love the length and slight thickening that this mascara gives to the lashes. It is by far my favourite of any of Lancome’s mascara.

Eyebrows: L’Oreal Brow Artist Plumper in Dark Brunette  £5.99

Just like my curly eyelashes I am blessed with long and thick eyebrows. I don’t fill them in with a pen, powder or pomade as I prefer a much more natural looking bushy brow. I do run just a tad of this gel through my brows to keep them in shape. When I first purchased this I hated it and I think it was because the formula was just too wet. I gave it a good pump and left the lid off for a couple of hours to dry it out a little and I much prefer it now. It makes my brows far less crispy!!!

dsc03437-1done

dsc03435

Lips

DSC03551

Lip balm: Fresh Sugar Advanced Therapy  $25

This is the first thing that I put on when I sit down to do my make up. I have nearly finished it and that makes me incredibly sad. With regular use this has transformed my lips from cracked monsters into plump, soft, kissable cushions!

Lip Pencil: Nars Satin Lip Pencil in Descanso (limited edition and no longer for sale)

This was the colour that I was least excited about in the Nars Digital World lip pencil collection that they released over Christmas. However, it is the shade that I now use the most. The colour is comparable to Charlotte Tilbury’s Penelope Pink and as it is pencil form I don’t have to use a lip liner with it. It is one of Nars’ satin finish pencils so it doesn’t last as long as their matte ones do but it is not drying at all on the lips and lasts a decent about of time. Although you will have to reapply after eating or drinking but I don’t mind that.

DSC03512-0

Brushes

Mac 129 £28: Powder 

The newest addition to my brush family and it is beautiful when used with powder. When used with a light hand you get a beautiful light dusting over the places you want to set.

Real Techniques Expert Face Brush £9.99: Foundation

I use this every day to apply foundation. The dense bristles buff foundation beautifully into the skin to provide a medium /full coverage.

Charlotte Tilbury Powder Sculpt £35: Contour 

This is the brush that matches the Filmstar Bronze and Glow. I use this just for the contour shade and it can build up the intensity of the product beautifully. I wouldn’t use the product with another brush now as this does the perfect job.

Real Techniques Contour (part of a set £21.99): Highlight 

It picks up just enough of the product so that you can sweep just the right amount of the candlelight glow anywhere that you desire it to be.

Chanel Blush (not available online): Bronzer 

I use a slightly smaller Bronzer brush than most people tend to use because I use bronzer as a blush over the apple of my cheeks. This was one of the first brushes that I ever brought when I first properly got into make-up and I still LOVE it. I have treated it well so it still looks perfect nearly 5 years on!

 Mac 219 £21: Under lower lash shadow

This fits beautifully just below the lower lash line to apply eyeshadow. This is a trick that I am now using everyday to make my eyes look bigger. I think that it especially looks lovely with bronzey shadows.

Mac 239 £21: Mobile Lid

I use this brush to pack on shadow onto the mobile lid and boy does it do its job well.

Mac 217 £19: Blending 

I use this brush to blend all shadows that I apply anywhere on my eye. I also use it to blend shadows into my crease to add depth to my socket.

Real Techniques Accent (part of a set £21.99): Inner Corner/ Tear Duct

This tiny little brush works wonderfully in the inner corner/ tear duct area to add a beautiful glow that really opens up the eyes.
I am really happy with the final result I think it is perfect for this transitional time of the year. I think that it would be a great look  for work, a wedding or a daytime date and I will definetly be recreating it again.

What do you think?

DSC03519

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “What’s on my face today? #2: Spring matte eye with nude lip

  1. Pingback: March favourites | Blunt Blogs

  2. Pingback: March favourites | SOPHIE BLUNT

Leave a Reply

