Easter holiday TBR list

dsc03578

Back in the day this was a blog all about books. Over time it has slowly evolved and I now write about a big number of different things but I still try to include some book posts. I made the decision to branch out because books are only one of my interests, I’ve got a heap of others and I wanted to give my readers a clearer idea of who I am as a writer and as a person.

Still, whenever I find the time to sit and write a book post I smile, remembering some of my first posts. I have promised myself that I will schedule in more time book blogging as it is after all how I started!

The Easter holidays are finally here and I find myself with 4 unplanned weeks and i’m going to use this freedom to catch up with friends, family, writing and reading! I found myself spending an enormous amount of time selecting the books that I want to try to read during the holiday and I think that I have selected a great mix of different genres. I’m sure that if you were to swing by this blog over the next few weeks you might even find one or two reviews of them too.

 

 1. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

night

I picked up this book from Waterstones after hearing Tanya Burr rave about it on her YouTube channel. I am already half way through and loving the magic of it. It is so unlike anything that I have read recently and I’m enjoying getting lost in this world of fantasy.

 2. The Opposite of Loneliness. Essays and Stories by Marina Keegan 

lonley

I can remember reading a news article back in 2012 about Marina Keegan. An aspiring writer who graduated magna cum laude from Yale, had a play that was set to be produced at the New York International Film Festival and a job waiting for her at the New Yorker. Tragically, 5 days after graduation, Marina died in a car crash. This book is a collection of her writing.

 3. Doctor Zhivago by Boris Pasternak 

dr

There will always be a classic in any of my TBR lists and half of the time it will be a Russian classic. This book is often described as one of the greatest love stories ever told and I feel that I need a bit of romance in my life at the moment.

 4. Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed

tiny

This is written by the author of Wild (now a big Hollywood movie which I am yet to see.) I read Wild over the Summer and fell in love with her style of writing. It was tender, hilarious and heartbreaking and I can’t wait to dive head first into this collection of her real internet agony aunt advice. Bring it on!

So there you have it. My next four reads.

What book are you excited to read next?

One thought on “Easter holiday TBR list

  1. Just wanted to say, I LOVED The Night Circus – I met the author with Neil Gaiman a while back and she was sweet as pie. I took a picture with her and she was just soo so nice but I didn’t expect the book to be as good as it was! I was there for Neil, and I left in love with her novel! I wonder if they’re making it a movie?

    Going to give you a follow on Bloglovin!

Leave a Reply

