Blunt’s Weekend Kichen: Black and Kidney Bean Chilli 

This weekends recipe comes from one of my newest cookbooks: Deliciously Ella. The book contains 100 sugar and gluten-free recipes from the huge food blogger Ella.  Most importantly for me, as a fairly newish vegetarian it is all meat free too. I think it is going to help me eat cleaner and will also help to include more protein into my food.

A couple of weeks ago I want longing for a hot bowl of spicy chilli and I didn’t know a veggie option so I turned to Ella’s book. Just reading the list of ingredients had me salivating; so I thought that I would share it with you.

I made enough for two people so I halved the list of ingredients below.

Serves 4:

Blunts Weekend Kichen Black and Kidney Bean Chilli 01

  • 2 carrots, grated
  • 2 cloves of garlic, peeled and crushed
  • 600g (22oz) passata
  • 50g (2oz) tomato purée
  • 2 x 400g tins black beans (I only had dried black turtle beans which worked perfectly.)
  • 1 x 400g tin red kidney beans
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, deseeded and finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon chilli flakes (I added a lot more) 
  • brown rice, to serve
  • salt and pepper, to season 

You need to: 

1. Boil water and get your brown rice cooking as this takes about 25 minutes.

  Blunts Weekend Kichen Black and Kidney Bean Chilli 02

2. Peel and grate the carrots. Crush your garlic. Put both into a large saucepan and mix together. 

Blunts Weekend Kichen Black and Kidney Bean Chilli  03

Blunts Weekend Kichen Black and Kidney Bean Chilli  04

 

3. Add the passata, squeeze in the tomato purée, mix in the beans, toss in the jalapeño pepper and sprinkle in some chili flakes to the carrots and garlic. I sprinkled in a little salt and pepper to help make all the flavours sing. 

Blunts Weekend Kichen Black and Kidney Bean Chilli 05

  Blunts Weekend Kichen Black and Kidney Bean Chilli  06

4. I then cooked this for about 15 minutes so everything was warm, mixed together and just lovely. 

DSC03676

5. Pour over the rice and sit down and enjoy. 

Blunts Weekend Kichen Black and Kidney Bean Chilli 08

Could that be any easier?This is the type of vegan food that you can serve to meat-eating friends and they will enjoy it too. The grated carrots is surprisingly filling and works as a great meat substitute as I do not eat tofu or quorn.  Filling, warming and is sure to put a smile on your face. Go on, give it a try! 

One thought on “Blunt’s Weekend Kichen: Black and Kidney Bean Chilli 

Leave a Reply

